What is a “Tweet Deck”…?

Recently I joined in on a Twitter conversation about children and screen time. This was the first time that I have ever taken part in such and I have to say there was a bit of trial and error. The first thing I was confused about war how did I join in? Was I supposed to start tagging people and responding to questions just randomly? No, I was supposed to search for a specific hashtag on something known as  “tweet deck” and simply “join in”.

A few things came to mind when I was told that….

  1. What is a tweet deck?
  2. But how do I join in?
  3. No, but really… what the heck is a tweet deck?
  4. Do I have to use the same hashtag when I post or is it fine if I leave it out since when I reply to a question it already tags everyone who is currently in the conversation?
  5. Where do I find this magical and somewhat unknown tweet deck????

 

As you can see I was really confused and not knowing what else to do, I obviously turned to Google and searched “tweet deck” and how to find it, and then add on to a conversation. It took me awhile to understand what was going on and to understand what a tweet deck was and what purpose it stood. I quickly found out that it was a location where every tweet that had been posted and was tagged by a specific hashtag could be found (Picture located below demonstrates this).

modal1.jpg

Once I found the location of the conversation I was then able to follow along with the conversation, and answer the questions being asked. Of course my struggles didn’t stop there because in response to my 4th question listed above I DID need to add the tag, and in my case it was #edtechchat to each response. After failing to do this in my first two responses I then got the hang of it and participated with ease.

 

Has anyone else every had learning moments while using digital literacy where they needed to do through a trial and error process to succeed?

One thought on “What is a “Tweet Deck”…?

  1. janevangalen says:

    One of the things that I find so intriguing about this work is that there has been almost no formal teaching in most of these uses of digital platforms to connect around learning — people have engaged in an enormous amount of trial and error (thus, in this class, you’re required to document what you do when you “err”!) and support from others. The hope is that we approach the “trial” parts playfully and learn as we go — that’s this form of learning that is often quite different from what we do in school.

    I’m looking forward to hearing more about how the twitter chat went!

    Like

Leave a Reply

